Yelp Reviews

      Five stars is not a high enough rating for Heidi. If I could rate her even higher, I would. I truly wish every laboring woman could have Heidi by their side. She was my angel leading up to and during my labor and the birth of my daughter. Heidi provided me with education, information, and encouragement leading up to labor which greatly eased my pre-baby gitters. During labor she was by my side the entire time. She provided physical support and brought a calming presence to the room. I never doubted myself or my ability to birth my baby because I had Heidi with me. She knew from experience (and I think intuitition) what I needed before I even asked. Heidi was able to support me, soothe my partner's fears, and deal with the midwife and nurse quietly without me even noticing. She was like my grandmother, mother, sister, and best friend all rolled into one tiny package.  Thank you so much Heidi for all that you are and do. I cannot imagine birthing another baby unless I can have you at my side.

    thumb Amy B.
    7/20/2018

      Heidi was a blessing to our second birth experience.  She calmly entered my home as I was laboring after I contacted her and started immediately supporting me. She was by my side the whole time speaking positive affirmations and when I struggled to cope with pain she suggested different positions or techniques. She provided me with evidence based information to help me make the most informed decisions during my pregnancy and labor.  Ultimately she supported my decisions and let me control my labor setting.  I successfully had a 9lb baby 100% natural with no tearing and I could not have done that without Heidi!!

    thumb Megan S.
    5/22/2017

DoulaMatch.Net Testimonials

Scroll inside this frame to see 35+ testimonials or visit DoulaMatch.net.

Facebook Reviews

positive review  Over these nearly 4 months since our child was born, I've reflected on my birth experience and I know I wouldn't have had such a positive experience without Heidi's guidance and teaching! Your teaching was invaluable! One thing that sticks out in particular, is you saying an epidural is a tool. Throughout my pregnancy I was adament that I didn't want an epidural. But as I neared 12 hours of labor and falling asleep between contractions and countless times of turning down an epidural from the nurses. My husband and I had that "real talk" at the 12 hour mark and we decided that getting an epidural was my best option to avoid exhaustion and delivering a healthy happy baby girl.

Kendyl Brooks Avatar Kendyl Brooks
July 27, 2020

positive review  I attended the peanut ball workshops, basic and advanced that Heidi taught at the end of May. I came away excited and empowered to use this tool while supporting my clients. She clearly loves what she does and it shows in the way she teaches. Very grateful for the time invested in this class.

Martha Bengtson Avatar Martha Bengtson
June 13, 2020

positive review  I really did enjoy myself. Im a hands on learner and there was a lot of that going on! The teacher was awesome as well!

Paris Hoskins Avatar Paris Hoskins
June 4, 2020

positive review  Heidi is a WONDERFUL teacher and asset to the birthing community. Her trainings are some of the best I have ever taken in 4 years of birth work. Her peanut ball workshop was informative,engaging, and top notch! she stays up to date on all things birth, and gave us the latest information. highly recommend her, and will definitely take more trainings with her in the future!

Wilson AnnaKen Avatar Wilson AnnaKen
June 3, 2020

positive review  Heidi is warm, professional, and has an evidence based philosophy on birth. She is everything we could want in a doula and are so glad we hired her!

Elise McGorrey Avatar Elise McGorrey
May 14, 2020

positive review  As a birth worker, I have taken professional development courses with Heidi (a peanut ball course and birth worker book club), and I am so thankful for the resources she provides the birth community and her clients! Thanks, Heidi!

Diana Blackburn Avatar Diana Blackburn
April 27, 2020

positive review  My husband and I are so thankful we hired Heidi as our doula. Her knowledge, skill, and experience put us at ease during the birth of our daughter. I would 100% recommend her classes and doula services.

Kelsey Lynn Avatar Kelsey Lynn
July 19, 2019

positive review  My partner and I took Heidi's group childbirth class in Nashville. It fit well into our busy schedule (we met in person two times) especially since we do not live down in Nashville. The class focused on advocacy and late pregnancy/labor and delivery information. I felt very informed and loved the targeted nature of the class. I also loved hearing advice from and being able to ask questions of Heidi since she has so much experience in our local birth culture. So glad we took the class!

Luci Hutchinson Avatar Luci Hutchinson
June 5, 2019

positive review  Heidi is awesome and totally worth it. She was a major help during the birth of our first child. She provides an incredible amount of information and support while allowing the parents to make the decisions without feeling pressured. I highly recommend her, especially for first time parents. -a former doula skeptic

Donald Zegler Avatar Donald Zegler
October 14, 2018

positive review  I have enjoyed learning from Heidi in a Peanut Ball workshop and a class from Evidence Based Birth. Thanks for sharing your experience and expertise! <3

Melinda Ring Ibclc Avatar Melinda Ring Ibclc
August 27, 2018

5 star review  I met Heidi professionally almost five years ago. I’ve learned in that time frame that her knowledge and passion for birth is endless! When I discovered she was teaching workshops to other birth professionals, I knew I had to enroll in a class. I attended her Peanut Ball Workshop at the beginning of the year and was not disappointed! I left more knowledgeable and confident in using the Peanut ball with my own clients. Heidi presents the information and demonstrates techniques in a way that makes it easy to understand and remember. If you’re thinking about attending one of her workshops, quit thinking about it and go for it!! You won’t be disappointed.

Kim LaRoy Walker Avatar Kim LaRoy Walker
August 9, 2018

positive review  Heidi is an expert with the Peanut Balls. This is very important to the laboring mom whose labor has stalled or baby that is OP

Catrenia Wanamaker Avatar Catrenia Wanamaker
August 8, 2018

positive review  Heidi did my henna belly painting for me. She did an excellent job and was very patient with all my kids coming in and out. I love how she cared that the experience was tailored to my needs. Her customer care is exceptional.

Rebekah Porter Avatar Rebekah Porter
August 7, 2018

positive review  I attended one of Heidi’s workshops recently and came away very informed and impressed. Heidi knows her stuff and is a very enthusiastic and effective communicator. She did a great job of getting a lot of important information across while keeping us all engaged and involved. I highly recommend any of her workshops!

Tracy Good Avatar Tracy Good
August 2, 2018

positive review  My favorite peanut ball skills trainer and Evidence Based Birth Instructor! Heidi's passion for improving the birth community and evidence based information shines through in all her workshops. I continue to use skills and information learned over and over with my own clients, and I always encourage clients looking for childbirth education to check out her classes. Plus, she's just a fun and engaging person to be around! 🙂

Jessica McGilvray Avatar Jessica McGilvray
August 2, 2018

4 star review  Heidi is dedicated, caring and passionate. She is well prepared to lead her workshops and is incredibly thorough. She shows concern for participants and offers so many benefits that would probably be a lot more difficult to achieve with other formats. I would like to see more engaging presentations and be more stimulated with activities through the actual training, but each learning style is different.

Stacey D Herron Avatar Stacey D Herron
July 31, 2018

5 star review  I've attended a few of Heidi's seminar/workshops and they are so valuable! Come prepared to take notes, ask questions, and participate. Heidi knows her stuff and walks you through some potentially complicated and fraught issues that dominate today's maternity care system. I always leave with my head buzzing with new info and new ways of looking at what I already thought I understood.

Lindsey Wilson Seger Avatar Lindsey Wilson Seger
July 31, 2018

positive review  Heidi was my angel. Everyone laboring woman should have Heidi by their side.

Amy Bossler Avatar Amy Bossler
July 20, 2018

5 star review  Heidi is a fantastic resource for your birthing needs! She is very knowledgeable and educates her clientele with the most up to date, research based evidence. When our birthing plan was forced to be changed at 41.5, Heidi was a consistent support for my husband and I by presenting us unbiased, truthful facts and knowledge that come from her distinguished experience as a doula. Heidi extended support through knowledge and grace when we were faced with unpanned decisions for the birth of our second child. I am forever grateful for her service to me during my pregnancy and delivery. My heart is full!

Stephanie Bowers Hamrick Avatar Stephanie Bowers Hamrick
February 6, 2018

5 star review  Heidi was my doula for the birth of both my babies, and I couldn't recommend her more! I knew immediately from our first meeting that I liked Heidi. She was very experienced and knowledgeable, and something about her made me feel calm and confident. I have written a review for my first already, so here is one for my second baby... Knowing that my first labor progressed quickly, Heidi didn't even wait for me to ask her to join me this time around. She decided to go ahead and leave her house and run errands close by me so that she would be readily available as soon as I needed her. I am so thankful she did that, since this birth was fast as well!! Heidi was such a calming comfort during this labor. She reminded me of all the things we had discussed prior to labor (things that we had talked about that would keep me calm and focused and in control mentally), and provided physical support with hip squeezes, etc. Because she took care of all that, my husband was able to simply love me and encourage me without thinking/worrying about these other things, which was perfect. As I was thinking about my birth after the fact, I was so impressed and thankful that Heidi had truly listened to me and tailored her approach to what I needed and wanted. I did not feel like just another laboring mom or like she took the exact same approach with me as she did with all her other clients. She truly listened to me- what sorts of things would help me, what sorts of things would make me feel calm and confident, what my fears were, etc. and she took that and tailored her approach. I could not recommend Heidi more and I'm so thankful she was able to help me bring my babies into this world!!!

Kim Robertson Kiser Avatar Kim Robertson Kiser
January 23, 2018

5 star review  My husband and I scheduled a 3-hour private childbirth class with Heidi. This was a great fit for our busy schedule. In addition, we both are heavy readers and researchers, so we were able to highlight specific topics and ask specific questions of Heidi when she came to our home for the class. She reviewed peanut ball and rebozo positions with us and reinforced the importance of laboring at home as long as possible in order to remain comfortable. She also took us through a packing list for labor/the hospital. When the day of our son’s birth came, we successfully labored at home for 12 hours and made it to the hospital with 1.5 hours to spare before he was born. My husband took everything we learned from Heidi and put it into play so that I could have the childbirth I envisioned and wanted. If you and your partner can’t commit to the 5-session childbirth class, I would highly recommend prioritizing a private session with Heidi. It made all the difference for us.

Lauren Land Morris Avatar Lauren Land Morris
January 16, 2018

5 star review  My wife and I attended Heidi's 5-week course. Needless to say, my wife asked me several times about attending this class and I really never showed a lot of enthusiasm. But, after agreeing, I went in with an open mind. Truth of the matter, I never expected to learn 90% of what I learned when I finished this course. Here are a few things that we did; Open classroom discussion, listened to first hand experiences, watched videos, heard pros and cons of multiple scenarios, given handouts and guides, and talked to others that are in the same situation as we were in to name a few. When this course was over I was confident in my ability to be there for my wife through everything and have her be confident in my abilities. Many, many eye openers for me during this 5-week time frame. Guys, don't be negative about this, it is very educational and you will be glad you attended in the end. Heidi is a very experienced professional. Her knowledge in this field was very impressive. Thank you, Heidi, for the experience! My wife and I enjoyed it! ~Cameron and Erin Crouse

Erin Kirby Crouse Avatar Erin Kirby Crouse
November 28, 2017

5 star review  We took Heidi's 6 week class and the knowledge we gained and were encouraged to seek on our own is irreplaceable. I wanted an unmedicated birth but didn't know the right questions to ask my provider and facility. We quickly realized Baby& Co was the right choice for us so we transferres and had the best birth experience I prayed for. Thanks to Heidi for teaching informed decisions, labor and birth process, and pain management. Heidi's knowslege ans teaching style is priceless guys, you won't regret learning with her.

Jamie Robertson Avatar Jamie Robertson
August 12, 2017

5 star review  I work with Heidi on a professional level. She's always keeping up to date on latest research so that she can inform both her birthing coworkers and clients on the most current information. Her goal is to support moms and families on their personal choices and desires, which I feel is the best way she can do her job!

Lydia Dailey Ibclc Avatar Lydia Dailey Ibclc
May 23, 2017

5 star review  Heidi was awesome! I will recommend her to all of my friends! Labor with my first child included an epidural and forceps so we hired Heidi for our second. My second childbirth experience was so much better and all natural! She is worth every penny and more!!

Anna Norton Avatar Anna Norton
July 1, 2015

5 star review  Heidi is wonderful! She is passionate about what she does, and was a great support to my husband and I. Her passion shows through the amount of time and energy she spends compiling and providing resources for her clients. My husband learned so much from our discussions with her and the Roots Childbirth classes that she taught. He was able to provide great support for me as I labored at home. Although we barely made it to the hospital in time, Heidi wasn't too far behind. It made such a difference when she arrived and I heard her voice. I was beginning to get tense and hold my breath while pushing, and her reminder of "just breathe it out" made all the difference. I immediately relaxed. After the birth, she stayed a while to help us get settled and provide continued support. She's the best and I highly recommend her!

Jessica Sills Avatar Jessica Sills
January 27, 2015

5 star review  You supported us through bringing both of our babies into this world, and I will say it again: You are worth your weight in gold, and probably more, seeing as how petite you are 😉 We could never express our gratitude to you for being there for our family when we needed your expertise and experience the most, but in an honest attempt.... THANK YOU SO MUCH, HEIDI!!! XOXOXO, The Paulson Family

Kendra Paulson Avatar Kendra Paulson
January 2, 2015

5 star review  Heidi was the best choice I made for my first baby. She empowered my husband and I with knowledge and helped us make good choices for a better birth experience. Having her with me made me feel so much better during labor. Her words, her touch, and her essential oils made all the difference! Having her is worth every penny spent! I highly recommend her for your birth experience.

Bonnie Lavender Avatar Bonnie Lavender
September 19, 2014

5 star review  First I want to say Thank You to Heidi, for taking the time to train and gain the knowledge necessary to become a true professional Doula providing birth services. Even though my LO , Emma-Grace is 5 months now, I haven't forgotten how wonderful it was to have Heidi with my husband and I while we labored for 30 hrs until Emma made her entrance into this world. What I recall most is Heidi's quiet confidence... she knows her stuff and I can attest to that. I'm 36 yrs old a "mature mom" by OB standards, also Emma is our third child, my boys where both born by c-section. In hind sight they where both unnecessary sections, so I knew I didn't want that to be my experience the third time around. Heidi answered all my questions and gave my husband and I the confidence we needed to make the decision to try for a VBA2C. We did it ! I know that the progression of labor and delivery would not have happened like they did, if Heidi had not been by our sides. That being said with 30 hrs of labor we had some complications...but each time the nurses or doctors threw something at us, We huddled up, prayed it up and my husband and I where able to make decisions based off of the knowledge Heidi provided to us! If you are considering a VBAC or just would like the comfort and confidence that comes from having a doula present at the birth of your little one, Heidi Duncan is your Doula!

Stephanie Sharpe Avatar Stephanie Sharpe
March 10, 2014

5 star review  Heidi henna'd my very pregnant belly and did an incredible job! She was so detailed, took her time to make sure it was just right and added so much to the atmosphere while friends looked on. The finished product was stunning! I'd highly recommend her!

Katie Garrett Avatar Katie Garrett
August 29, 2013

5 star review  I can not recommend Heidi enough! The best decision we made was to have her be a part of the birth of our beautiful daughter. She is extremely attentive and was available to me and my husband before, during, and after the birth of our baby. She has a lot of experience, which as first time parents was crucial and important in our decision making. Heidi was nothing short of amazing before, during, and after labor. Without her my birth experience wouldn't have been as wonderful as it was.

Isamar Bennett Avatar Isamar Bennett
July 23, 2013

5 star review  Heidi is a Jane of all Trades! She did a beautiful belly henna for me earlier this year. She is very knowledgeable about all things pregnancy & birth related. I give her my highest recommendation as a doula, childbirth educator, henna artist, etc.

Kristyn Criss Avatar Kristyn Criss
July 22, 2013

5 star review  Heidi was wonderful to have at the birthing of my second son. It was good to have someone there to help my husband and I make decisions on things when the time came for that. She was by my side from start to finish, which was over 24 hours! We were all exhausted. If I was going to ever have another baby I wouldn't do it without her! She knows her stuff! Thanks Heidi!!! 🙂

Penny Purser Mattox Avatar Penny Purser Mattox
July 22, 2013

5 star review  Heidi was amazing in the training and classes she gave my husband and me before the birth of our daughter. She made sure we knew what our options were and had us educated. All of it was more than needed. Even though I had a really fast labor and delivery, she was there and was extermely supportive. She is sweet, and calming, and listens to what your wants and needs are. I highly recommend Heidi to anyone.. first time mom or not.

Jenna Secrist Avatar Jenna Secrist
July 22, 2013

5 star review  Heidi was invaluable to achieving what i wanted in birth and being the womanly support I needed on top of my husband's loving help. I would highly recommend her for her experience , down to earth persona, and enthusiasm !

Kelley McShea Avatar Kelley McShea
July 22, 2013

Next Steps...

Want to read more testimonials? There are 25 reviews on my Google profile.